Republic of Ireland

Ireland is a small nation, but it takes great pride in its highly respected and globally recognized national university system. Essentially there are eight universities in the Republic of Ireland (Eire), and 14 technological institutes. In nearly all cases the universities are located in the main cities. Ireland is known for its programs in education, technology, and the sciences. The public universities are part of the national system and are as follows:

  • University College, Dublin
  • University College, Cork
  • The National University of Galway
  • The University of Limerick
  • Maynooth University
  • Dublin City University (DCU)
  • Technological University of Dublin

Trinity University, in Dublin, is the oldest and most established university in Ireland. It is considered a private institution and may be more selective in the application process than other universities associated with the public system. 

A university degree from any Irish university is an impressive accomplishment. Higher education in Ireland is highly recognized the world over, and students from around the globe study at each and every campus. 

Historically, Ireland is known for its relationship to the Catholic Church, and that close relationship impacted its system of education and university system. Some colleges remain Catholic in name. One such school is Mary Immaculate College, in Limerick, known for its outstanding teacher education and study-abroad programs.

University College, Cork